Arts as a way of fulfillment

Screen Shot 2014-06-08 at 11.03.59 AM

Let’s face the hardest of questions: whether I am an expert in any worthy part of human culture. I’m not, obviously. Moreover, the level of my ignorance could shock innocent bystanders if they were to know. Let’s start with pop-culture. I know a lot of music videos, but don’t differentiate them by genre, and often don’t remember the name of the singer. I like the dance moves. I can kind of differentiate the genre of a dance performance. I even heard somebody’s rant about contemporary dance vs. contemporary ballet. I’ve learned from dance majors and minors of different kind, so I vaguely know what “isolation” means. I want to join a hip-hop class next year, because apparently that is a thing to do in LA.

The classical and modern art: painting, sculpture, and other vague “installations”. I’ve always enjoyed going to the art galleries. I often don’t remember the name of the artist. I can vaguely differentiate the genre of a painting. Paintings don’t “move” me, but I find certain things about them curious. I can feel the difference between taste and no taste, but I can hardly apply it in practice. I never buy, that is. And if I make something myself, I’m usually much less devoted to the process of creation, than an artist would be. So even my good taste decisions do not reach completion. The out product is unsightly (my poster/slide presentations, postcards).

In general, I think most of the art is not coherent enough to actually address any of the serious problems, it just slowly changes your emotional palette. What about photos on Facebook? I own an old camera, and I don’t carry it around too much anymore. I’m trying to fight with Amy about not taking the “pose” photos, but taking “slice of life” photos instead. I’m very much behind any people who are still trying to capture the reality artistically. Here’s my more stubborn friend’s photostorytelling.

I’m more or less acquainted with internet culture, since that is where I spend most of the time. Maybe my knowledge are not so useful, but it makes me smile.

One thought on “Arts as a way of fulfillment

Leave a Reply

